What One Year Of Blogging Has Taught Me

I recently got a notification from WordPress that I have been blogging for a year now! Technically, I created my blog a year ago but I only started actively blogging 3 months ago. I have experienced a lot of ups and downs during these past 3 months and I think it would be lovely to share what I have learnt about blogging so far. I hope you enjoy!

Blogging is not as easy as it seems

That perfect flatlay and glamorous pictures you see on blogs have probably been taken a 100 times to look just right. Before I started blogging I used to think people just empty the contents of their makeup bag and everything falls beautifully in place. I didn’t understand why mine looked like a hot mess. It takes a lot of effort and hours to plan posts, write it, take pictures and promote it. Blogging can easily turn into a full-time job! You have to be consistent and diligent and always try to improve. It’s not easy, but definitely worth it. So far!

If something isn’t working, don’t be afraid to scrap it

When I first started blogging I couldn’t decide on what niche I wanted to blog about. So I started with many niches like music, movies, books, fashion, makeup, travelling and lifestyle. I started posting and I quickly realised that people did not like reading my independent posts about music, books and movies. So I deleted all those posts and I slowly dwindled down my topics to things that people liked. I listened to my readers and acted accordingly.

I think its okay to not blog about everything. Even if you love everything like me LOL. I think my opinion is more valued in certain areas than others, which is great! It allows my thoughts to be more targeted and my quality to be better. Don’t be afraid to adapt especially when you are starting out because you have we have so much lee way for change now!

highlights.jpg

Shamelessly promote your blog

A lot of people feel shy about sharing their blog posts but it is one of the best ways for people to find your blog. I am not saying that you should be that annoying, spammy blogger, but doing things like sharing your posts once social media and leaving your blog link at the end of comments is a great way to get your blog out there. If you feel uncomfortable about sharing your posts with people you know you can carve out an entirely separate community of strangers to share your posts with. For example, I now have a separate Instagram page where I am striving to grow a community of like-minded people different from followers on my personal page!

blog

Interact with the blogging community

Interacting with other people is so important when you’re a blogger. It’s not enough to just publish posts and sit and wait for something to happen. I make sure to reply to every single person that took the time to comment on my post. Doing this helps build relationships with the people that read your posts! Also, do not be afraid to comment on other people’s posts, share their blog post, like them or follow them on Instagram. When you comment, try to leave thoughtful comments. Simply commenting “Nice” or “Great post” does not count. It shows you didn’t read a word of the persons post. Truly interacting really makes your blogging experience so much better!

This is one of the best tips for growing any social media site; posting often, striving for quality content and interacting with the community! 

 Be yourself

I think it’s perfectly okay to derive inspiration from another person because almost everything under the sun has been blogged about. I think what makes a post unique in particular is the fact that it is your unique perspective. That is why it is important to be honest and be yourself. It is so exhausting trying to act like something you are not and I think people can pick up on that. On the flip side, it is so liberating when people embrace unique aspects of your personality that you may think are weird or not good enough. That can be what makes you stand out!

IMG_3845.jpg

I’m definitely still a baby blogger and I have no idea what I am doing 99.999 percent of the time so these are just some of the things I have learnt so far! I also have no idea what I’m going to do when I move into a self hosted site. And what in heavens name is SEO and HTML? This is uncharted territory. LOL wish me luck and fingers crossed that I appear graceful admist the madness!

What has blogging taught you?

Instagram ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest Twitter

69 thoughts on “What One Year Of Blogging Has Taught Me”

  1. You have some great tips here! I’ve been blogging here for a little over a year now, and the worst thing for me is to find time for it! I had full time studies mon-fri + the additional homework, so it was really hard for me to find time to even put makeup on just for myself! haha
    If you want to succeed you definitely need to put time and effort in your blog, which at times can be really hard when you are dealing with “the real life” next to it.
    I previously had a blog on here but it was a total fail! It was not the type of content I wanted to create and it failed me haha
    So what I learnt from that is to blog about what you are passionate about, and in a way you can express yourself!

    ~Kate ❤️
    https://heilfashion.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I totally agree. Finding time to blog can be very challenging. I’m in awe of those people that can blog everyday. I wonder how I will juggle blogging and my studies once I begin my Masters! 😓😓 I hope I can be consistent lool. And doing what you enjoy is equally important because even if it gets difficult you are still passionate to continue!

      Thank you so much for the insight and comment! ❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have also been blogging a little over year now and I agree with you. I have learned many of these things you mentioned. Especially that blogging is harder than it looks part… It took me long time to realize that I have to be active all the time and answer to comments and not just post once a week and do nothing else. But I think I learn new things every day and that’s one of the reasons I love blogging. Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha same here! I used to just post once a week and leave my blog. Then come back confused as to why only one person had read my post in 3 days 😂😂 it was so confusing. I’m glad I’m over that now! Being active has seriously made blogging so interesting for me and you are also right about learning new things everyday. We are constantly improving and that is the fun of it!

      Thank you so much for the comment and your tips! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! I didn’t know I would spend all my free time blogging and promoting it’s actually amazing and not what I expected. But it is so great watching your progress as you do so. Thank you so much for the lovely comment 💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pearl, I wish you good luck in blogging.
    I run my blog already six year, and sometimes, I don’t have enough perseverance to write again and again.
    I think every blogger must know for sure why he/she do it. Is it only for pleasure or something more? A right answer helps to continue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I really, really need it 😂
      I also think it is amazing how you’ve been blogging for so long. I agree with finding the reason why you want to blog. I don’t think it is a question I have a concrete answer to yet. I am definitely still figuring it out as I go along but I will begin to find my “why” in this next blogging year. Thank you so much for the tip! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Girl don’t be deceived by this front I am a hot mess behind the scenes 😂😂😂
      Keep blogging about different stuff and watch your stats while you do so. It will soon become clearer which posts people like to read on your blog.
      I’m glad I could help ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for your genuineness in this post. About finding fulfilment in sharing the things you never thought were cool and getting great responses is so true to me. Shamelessly promoting your post is depressing sometimes because it sounds like you are whining…lol. I enjoyed reading this post though. Congrats on one year of blogging. All the best in all that is to come.

    http://www.inefinelivin.com

    P.s – some blogs you keep commenting on but they never show any interest in your blog can be unfair but you have to find the motivation in the encouragement from those that support.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very welcome dear I’m glad I could help 💕💕! I think a balance should be struck when promoting posts. I only share my blog posts once or twice at most on social media so it does not look like I am spamming. A lot of people don’t share posts so it’s really essential that they do.
      Also, I think it will be good to let go of the mindset of commenting on someone’s posts because you want them to notice your blog. A lot of the people’s posts I comment on do not often do not go back to my blog. It doesn’t stop me, I really don’t care. Lmao I’m commenting because I liked the content genuinely and if they happen to like my blog too, even better for me.

      If they do not like your blog enough to show support I don’t think it’s a bad thing either, just find the people that will. There are millions upon millions of people that will love you out there and support your blog fully. Don’t let a few people get you down! ❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahh congratulations on one year!! I LOVE the things blogging has taught you- I agree with all of them so much! Especially not being afraid to scrap things if they don’t work out! ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay for #yearone aka three months 😆. To be honest, I too didn’t know blogging took so much effort. I was seriously shook when I found my self taking hours am even days just for one post. 😳😳.
    Moreover, I didn’t even know there’s a whole “community” out there. Man! I’ve learnt so much. Just waiting for my 3rd month to write mine. Phew! Meanwhile, you write so beautifully

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha same I literally spend all my free time doing blog related stuff it’s ridiculous! And same I never knew there were so many bloggers like me I think it’s really cool. We’re like our own little community! Thank you so much for the lovely comment girl 😘

      Like

  7. Congrats on one year!! That’s amazing Pearl. I definitely agree with your points, especially about being yourself. It seems like too much effort to try constantly be someone else in your blogging, and people will tell if you’re not being genuine. Just write about what you want to write and you’ll find your community through that 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. LOL at emptying a makeup purse and expecting everything to fall into place. Honestly, I used to think that too😂. I think you’re doing an amazing job with your blog. Some points you made got me thinking seriously. I have to get serious about sticking to a niche. Also, I have to work on interacting with fellow bloggers, though it’s a struggle for me😩. I shared some lessons I’ve learnt from blogging recently. Congratulations!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on getting the hang on blogging, I have been blogging for a year plus and consistency is my biggest challenge however blogging has helped improve my confidence in my abilities and I am no longer shy of telling people about my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I definitely agree, I learned to be active on social media and connect with other bloggers. Blogging is not easy at all, the flat lays take a lot of work and so does the whole process behind blogging posts. I’m clueless on SEOs and html’s myself, it’s a whole other world. In blogging, I learned to connect with small businesses to promote their products and collaborate with other bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooo I think you should do a post about that! I have no idea on how to collaborate with businesses and bloggers! Hopefully I can get the hang of that. It’s a learning process but I love the improvement we all inevitably make when we are consistent 🙆🏾

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I think blogging has taught me the impact and necessity that being consistent on social media can have and also just the need to always be interacting with people. In the past, I would just thinking putting out a post with a few good tags is enough but really, in a place & time where there are so many other people posting, it’s way easy to get hidden. On another note, I certainly agree that blogging is NOT easy ( quite a worthy time consumption, though)!

    ~ Bree

    Like

  12. Hey darling, I very much like your blog! I agree with every single point of yours, you definitely learned a lot! I’m still shy when it comes to promoting, ahg. x

    Like

  13. This helps a lot. I have to admit, I’ve been one of those people that post and sit around waiting for views. But I’ve started making some changes. It’s really hard given that my blog is just basically reflections on life. But this post has given me a few ideas on how to make progress. Thank you so much.
    http://www.musingsinnirvana.wordpress.com

    Like

  14. As much as I hate to admit it, I have also gone through that phase. Waiting around for people to come to my blog, without actively making an effort to get them to read it, and get my platform noticed.

    Then again, I had just started blogging back then and I think a lot of us make these mistakes at least once in our blogging careers! We live and learn 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, and congrats on one year of blogging!

    xoxo
    Angie
    halfthecriteria.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

