Handling Rejections and The Power of Positive Thinking

When I was applying for my undergraduate degree in Biomedical Science, I was rejected by 4 out of the 5 schools I applied to. To make matters worse, I got rejected by these schools one by one until it was only that one school left. It was one of the most demoralising times of my life. I was extremely anxious and uncertain of my future and what would happen if I couldn’t go to school that year.

However, I wouldn’t change a thing that happened. Although I got accepted by only one school, it turned out to be the perfect university for me. Studying in Salford University made me fall in love with Biomedical Science. It allowed me to excel and I graduated with a First Class Honours Degree! (For some context for my non-British readers, my grades were evaluated to be equivalent to a 3.83/4 GPA by WES)

My university experience is just a type of rejection that you could experience. There are so many different things that people go through that are way worse than silly university applications. They are not defined by their circumstances and their rejections. They never let it get to them. They are extremely inspiring to me!

IMG_3708

Rejection

Getting rejected sucks. And it especially sucks when you poured your heart and soul into something and no one appreciates, no one wants it, people laugh and completely ignore it. You feel inadequate, like something is wrong with you and you try to analyze everything you did and what you could have done differently. These were thoughts that crossed my mind on a number of occasions. But during these last few years I have reformed my way of thinking and I have began to adopt a positive mindset. Adopting a positive mindset has allowed me to enjoy life more. I appreciate the simpler things and I understand that it’s okay to try again!

Getting Positive

Call me crazy but I truly, truly believe positive thoughts attract positive things. What you think can really affect the outcomes of situations in your life.  It’s like the law of the freaking universe.

I often draw inspiration from extraordinary people whenever I approach challenging situations in life. As future scientist, I am inspired by scientists that succeeded above all odds. One peculiar example is Thomas Edison: a great inventor and businessman. Most people know him as the man who invented the lightbulb. When he was younger, Thomas Edison’s teachers said that he was “too stupid to learn anything”. He was fired from a number of jobs he had because he was “unproductive”. He also had 1000 unsuccessful attempts at inventing the lightbulb. One thousand, painstaking, detailed attempts! Thomas Edison was rejected and experienced thousands of failures before his successes. His drive and ambition was extraordinary!

Rejections and failures are a normal part of life but you  only need one yes or success for things to turn around. In times of rejection, I believe having a positive mindset is crucial because it allows you to handle negative situations properly. Don’t give up!

Have Faith

In Christianity, faith is the pillar of it’s belief. We hope for things that we do not see and things we can never understand.  In hard times, we are encouraged to have faith and hope that things will work out for the greater good. In fact, faith is so powerful in Christianity that a parable says that even if you have faith as small as mustard seed, you can move a mountain! Even if you are not a religious person, having faith allows you to keep your head up high and not be overwhelmed by your problems.

Hope

I always say to myself if rejections happen that it’s not the end of the world. It may feel like it but just keep hoping. Never stop hoping for positive things. Affirm that you will receive them and work really hard for it. Don’t worry if it doesn’t work out the first time. Try again, try harder and in different variations. Above all, hope for the best. Believe that the universe is working for your good and not against you. Hope that everything will work out for the greater good!

How do you handle rejections?

Thank you for reading!

Instagram ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest Twitter

16 thoughts on “Handling Rejections and The Power of Positive Thinking”

  1. Rejection really sucks! It could make you feel worthless but nothing beats believing in yourself even in the face of rejection. I have adopted that and it has helped me greatly.

    Glad you could get back on your feet and excel wonderfully!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great piece! The coin of rejection is a solid truth if one wants to go after their dream. As a writer, I know all too well the sting of rejection. I also know the euphoria of success through perseverance .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And that is very relatable, remembering the euphoria we felt when we had a success can really push me through my hard times sometimes. I just try to stay positive! Thank you so much for commenting! 💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely love this post!! I’m a Christian too, and firmly believe in the things you just said. Keep up the perseverance and faith my sister in God. ☺️💙

    Like

  4. A very helpful post indeed. In recent times I have suffered some rejections, after having gout my heart and soul into striving for things. It has been quite demoralising, and some days I let the negativity overwhelm me. But thankfully I am an eternal optimist, and I have faith and I am ever hopeful. I truly believe that the things that the breaks I have not had went awry for a reason, because that was not my path, and the space is needed for my correct path to open up in front of me when the time is right. It is very hard to stay positive in the face of rejection, but we are not rejected because we are bad people, or unworthy, but just because that other person, or job, or university was not the right fir for us. It has taken me a long time to realise and accept this and feel valid and worthy just as I am.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! I always feel like if I have a disappointment then that path really wasn’t for me. Also that is a great mindset to have where you don’t take rejection personally. It’s hard to not take it as a flaw of your character sometimes! It’s great you have reached a point where you can adopt a healthy reaction to rejections. Lovely insight and thank you so so much for commenting. I am very appreciative of you sharing your thought. 💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

