20 Things I’ve Learnt In 20 Years 

Stop Worrying, Love Yourself and Question Everything.

In my 20 years of growing up I have learnt a lot of things through my experiences and I thought it would be nice to share them because it could be applicable to people of any age. Here they are!

  1. Humans are complex and extremely unpredictable creatures that can be capable of great evil or love.
  2. Worrying about things you cannot control is a waste of time.
  3. Question everything. Never be afraid to question things that are considered norm.
  4. Always try to see the good in people.
  5. But don’t be naive. Even though some people have good qualities, a lot of people have ulterior motives and may not be genuine.
  6. Try to be aware and thankful for the privileges and opportunities you were born into.
  7. Motivation rarely gets you to complete a task. Being disciplined is far superior to motivation.
  8. Not everyone is going to like you. The sooner you accept it, the easier navigating relationships and friendships becomes.
  9. Everyone has different, interesting and even offensive opinions. Always listen with an open mind and try to broaden your view of the world.
  10. Things are not always in black and white. The whole world is a blob of messy grey areas.
  11. Your parents are probably right 99% percent of the time.
  12. Bad things happen to good people. It doesn’t make sense and I will probably never understand it.
  13. Healthy food doesn’t actually taste that bad, as long as you know how to cook it properly.
  14. Be silly and laugh a lot. It makes you feel better and relaxes you.
  15. Most things are not that serious. When you put things into perspective, will this really be important 10 years from now? If not, it’s probably not worth it.
  16. Be a problem solver instead of a problem dweller.
  17. Stop comparing yourself to other people.
  18. It is okay to be single. It will happen when it will happen.
  19. A lot of arguements are pointless and never get anywhere. Pick and choose your battles.
  20. Cherish and love your body. You may not like how it looks but it does a pretty fucking hard job of keeping you alive everyday.

That’s it! I turned 20 a few months ago and it kind of feels like the age where you aren’t really a child anymore so you should really have your shit together, but at the same time you haven’t fully entered adulthood. I am just enjoying this last few months of the baby-girl life before I become a full adult.

What have you learnt about people and yourself these past few years? Leave it in the comments section!

22 thoughts on “20 Things I’ve Learnt In 20 Years ”

    1. Great advice! It’s so easy to think it’s the end of the world sometimes when you make a mistake. But remembering to move forward and keep evolving helps.
      Thank you so much for commenting! Xx

      Like

  1. I love these! You’re so right and these are continuing lessons to learn throughout your life. And girl, I’m 30 and I still don’t feel like an “adult” even though I call high schoolers kids now! Lesson 21: Never grow up. You’ll enjoy life much more.
    Great post, gorgeous! Thank you for sharing your insight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Lool I’ve always heard that you never really feel old inside even though you grow up. It really is quite peculiar.
      Great advice! Always embrace the inner child in you.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting!
      Xx

      Like

  2. Great post! You have more figured out at twenty than I did! Your list is a nice blend of light hearted and thought provoking. Very enjoyable to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a great list and a number of those took me much longer than 20 to learn. At 50 it’s hard not to look back on the things that I let slip by – which is why my advise would be – don’t be afraid to get out of your comfort zone and grab hold of opportunities that come up as you never know where you’ll end up.

    Thanks for the great post

    Like

  4. I have learnt to not take myself too seriously, to let my loved ones in and trust them, that my dreams can come true and always try to see the good in others and myself

    Like

Leave a Reply

